Safeguarding Statement

Rumboldswhyke Church of England Infants’ School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff, parents, governors and volunteers to share this commitment. Consequently all adults working in school regularly are required to complete a DBS (Disclosure and Barring Service) Enhanced Police Check.

We have a number of policies and procedures in place that contribute to our safeguarding commitment, including our Child Protection Policy which can be viewed in the Policies section of our website.

Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies when there are concerns about a child’s welfare. We will ensure that our concerns about our pupils are discussed with his/her parents/carers first unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the child’s welfare.

We actively support the Government’s Prevent Agenda to counter radicalism and extremism.

Our Designated Member of Staff for Child Protection (DMS) is Mrs Fiona Sayce (Headteacher). Our Deputy Designated Member of Staff for Child Protection (Deputy DMS) is Mr Brendan Saxton (Deputy Headteacher).

If you are concerned about a child or young person’s welfare, please record your concern and any observations or conversation heard, and report to one of the DMS as soon as possible the same day. Do NOT conduct your own investigation.

If your concerns relate to the actions or behaviour of a member of staff (which could suggest that s/he is unsuitable to work with children or young people) then you should report this directly to the Headteacher, Mrs Fiona Sayce (or the Chair of Governors, Mrs Suni Lowe, if the concern relates to the Headteacher) – who will consider what action to take.

Fiona Sayce

Key Contacts:

Designated Member of Staff for Child Protection (DMS): Mrs Fiona Sayce
Lead Governor for Child Protection: Mrs Rebecca Milward
West Sussex Children’s Services: Children’s Access Point: (CAP): Tel: 01403 229900
Fax: 01403 754205
Local Authority Designated
Officer (LADO):
0330 222 3337
Community Safety Lead Officer: Beverley Knight
Tel:0330 222 4223